Friday, December 20, 2013

Godsland Series By Brian Rathbone Book Tour: Review and Giveaway

Welcome to my stop on the Godsland series blog tour!  This is a YA epic/high fantasy adventure series by Brian Rathbone.  The tour consists of reviews of all of the books and the audiobook, as well as guest posts, interviews and more. Be sure to check out the tour page with all the tour information and additional tour stops.
The books in the Godsland series:
Call of the Herald (Book One) - FREE
Inherited Danger (Book Two)- FREE
Dragon Ore (Book Three)
You can also find it in one bind up called The Dawning of Power Trilogy Omnibus.

Find the full list of titles and links at As this is only the first trilogy in the World of Godsland series.

Godsland Book One - Call of the Herald
243 pages 
Echoes of the ancients' power are distant memories, tattered and faded by the passage of eons, but that is about to change. A new dawn has arrived. Latent abilities, harbored in mankind's deepest fibers, wait to be unleashed. Ancient evils awaken, and old fears ignite the fires of war. When a Catrin Volker, a teenage horse trainer, inadvertently fulfills the prophecy of the destroyer, she becomes the most feared and hunted persoon all of Godsland. With the help of her friends, she must convince the world that she wants only peace.

       I had very high expectations for this book, and it met all of them! I received this book about a week ago, so I had to put down the novel I was reading in order to finish Call of the Herald in time for today's review. Luckily- well, not luckily, but it kinda worked in my favor- I was sick and got to stay in bed all day and read.
       This book started off a bit slow, and it took me a few chapters to get into it, but once I did, there were no regrets. It also took me a little while to get used to the foreign names of the people and places. Again, no regrets there.
        In the beginning, we hear about a prophecy that had been made years before the book was set. Then we skip ahead a few hundred years into what is supposed to be present time.
        We meet the main character, Catrin, right away. She's depicted as a mostly average girl for
where she lives, although she seems a bit shy, shown in the way she is unwilling to partake in some of her friend and cousin's pranks.
        Catrin fullfils the ancient prophecy without realizing it. Suddenly, she's gone from a young supporting character in someone else's story to a feared, yet revered, legend.
        Now she must go from the timid girl she was to the strong, independent girl she is now, all while trying to prove that she is a benevolent force.
        Although this process was fairly quick, it wasn't quick enough for me to become annoyed.
        I think this is a great book and that everyone should read it, especially since the first two books are free right now.

Rating: 4 stars
Recommended for: anyone who can follow the storyline without getting discouraged.

Disclaimer: I received the omnibus of these books for free in exchange for an honest review.

Godsland Book Two - Inherited Danger 
276 pages
Leaving her homeland behind, Catrin Volker goes in search of knowledge and peace, unaware that she will face the greatest evil her world has ever known.


Godsland Book Three- Dragon Ore
268 pages
Dragon Ore is the exciting conclusion of The Dawning of Power trilogy. Clinging to life, Catrin Volker struggles to regain her strength as her foes go in search of even greater power. Ancient enemies threaten and forgotten alliances emerge.

Brian Rathbone started out as a professional racehorse trainer, but he later transformed himself into a network engineer, programmer, and, more recently, rural broadband specialist. One thing that never changed was Brian's love of reading fantasy fiction. For years he would think of story lines for his own stories as a way to keep from dreaming about writing code. When the time came that Brian could concentrate on writing, The World of Godsland became real.

Author Sites:
WebsiteTwitter | Facebook | GoodReads | Trailer | Free Web Game Feral Dragons | Free Web Game Grumpy Dragons

Books can be found at: GoodReads |


a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment